About Us

The mission of the National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP) is to increase the quality of charitable planned gifts by serving as the voice and professional resource for the gift planning community.

Having access to the CGP network of charitable gift planners has been invaluable in my work. It’s easy to get the answers to my tough questions and find the resources to support the solution

The National Association of Charitable Gift Planners helps maximize the value of charitable giving for nonprofit organizations and donors by helping:

  • Fundraising Professionals provide the most meaningful charitable giving experience for donors
  • Financial Planning Professionals provide their clients with excellent advice on charitable giving and estate planning
  • Nonprofit Managers and Trustees better accomplish the missions of their organizations through meaningful philanthropic planning

Our local meetings provide a forum to share expertise, ideas and knowledge. In addition, our programs offer our members and the community timely information about giving trends, financial strategies, donor behaviors and marketing.

Originally created in 1988 as the National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP), the Partnership for Philanthropic Planning (the Partnership) is a 501(c)(3) public charity whose mission is to help people and organizations create charitable giving experiences that are the most meaningful in achieving both charitable mission and the philanthropic, financial, family and personal goals of the donor.

Lone Star Council Board of Directors

Joni Hart
President
American Cancer Society
joni.hart@cancer.org

Mark J. Smith
Vice President

mjasny@charter.net

Sam V. Guerin, Jr.
Secretary
Bank of Texas
sguerin@bankoftexas.com

Beth Cardwell
Treasurer
Texas Christian University
b.cardwell@tcu.edu

Shawn Smith, CFP, MBA, ChFC, APMA
Membership
Clearfork Wealth Management
shawn.d.smith@ampf.com

Barbara Shelton, CFRE
Program Chair
ACH Child and Family Services
Barbara.Shelton@achservices.org

Pat Miller, CFRE
Past President
Fundraising Professional and
Community Volunteer

pmillertx04@gmail.com

Harva Kuykendall CAP®, CWS®
Member-At-Large
Frost Wealth Advisors
harva.kuykendall@frostbank.com